Troubadour International Poetry Prize 2020

The following prizewinning poems were chosen by our 2020 judges, Mark Doty & Mona Arshi, & announced online at Troubadour International Poetry Prize Night on Mon 23 Nov 2020. (see judges reports & poems below)

  • First Prize, £2,000, Entre-Deux-Mers, June, Amy Glynn, Lafayette, California
  • Second Prize, £1000, Filter Queen, Michael Lavers, Provo, Utah
  • Third Prize, £500, Calf, Elizabeth Cook, London

Commended poems:

  • The Reed Flute & I, Abeer Ameer, Cardiff
  • Drag, Alex Matraxia, Hadley Wood, Hertfordshire
  • In the maternity wing, Ann Leahy, Dublin
  • Anchorite, Christine MacFarlane, Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
  • Red Peppers, David Tucker, Dexter, Michigan
  • Distance Runner, Giles Goodland, London
  • Curfew, Hussain Ahmed, Oxford, Mississippi
  • Secret Baptism, Jessica Cohn, Aptos, California
  • The Tees Roll, Judi Sutherland, Malahide, Co. Dublin
  • Mouth Game, Katie Hale, Penrith, Cumbria
  • Born in the year of the boar, Maia Elsner, Oxford
  • On Reading Olav Hauge, Margaret Wilmot, Polegate, E. Sussex
  • england poz, Mark Chamberlain, London
  • Crown Shyness, Mark Granier, Bray, Co. Wicklow
  • Irresolution, Matthew Griffiths, London
  • First Inoculation, Owen Lewis, New York
  • Driving in the Dark, Paul McMahon, Clonakilty, Co. Cork
  • Nature Table, Robert Walton, Bristol
  • Pouch, Sharon Black, Gardoussel, France
  • Wimbledon 2020, Vanessa Lampert, Wallingford, Oxfordshire
  • Washing Dishes: Reading Anna Akhmatova, Yvonne Blomer,Victoria, British Columbia

2020 Judges’ Reports

Mona Arshi writes…

It’s been an immense privilege to judge the Troubadour International Poetry Prize. Winning (and commended poems) that flow from the Troubadour competition have a reputation for excellence and the first thing to say is that the quality of the poems that arrived were very high indeed. Judging poems in a pandemic…

Read the prize–winning poems

Poems: copyright © various named authors. All rights reserved.

Other content: copyright © Coffee–House Poetry 2008–2021. All rights reserved.

Website created and hosted by Lab 99 Web Design.